The One With the Nomination

Posted: January 28, 2012 in My Life, Why Me ??

My rather slow response to my Versatile Blogger nomination!

Apart from academics, I guess this is the first nomination I’ve got for something, and so far I’ve been nominated thrice. Well finally people find me worthy of something, a Versatile Blogger nomination, despite all the grammatical errors… damn I so much wish to see the face of my high school English teacher, she used to hate me so much, well the feelings were mutual… 🙂

Anyways, when I was notified of the award for the first time a couple of months back by Rhyming Med Student , my first reaction was to search and search in an attempt to find out its origin and determine if it was legitimate all ? What makes it so special if everyone gets them by the sheer fact that when 1 person receives the award, they nominate 15 more?  It’s like a pyramid scheme with nothing at stake.
But later I realized in the world full of Facebook ‘likes’, ‘retweets’ and ‘+1s’ this award allows us to spend some time and honor our fellow bloggers… It is a way to show that we respect them and we like what they have to say.

Well , I’m not a rule follower… generally, but I guess here I’ll try to stick to the rules, So the versatile blogger nomination require following rules to be followed:
1) Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post;
2) share 7 random things about yourself;
3) pass the award on to 15 more bloggers that you enjoy;
4) post the versatile blogger logo in the post; and
5) contact the bloggers you have chosen to let them know that they have been selected! 

So, I’ll begin with a note of thanks to the fellow bloggers for nominating me:

1. The Rhyming Med Student
2. Ren
3. Radhika Gupta 

thank you for including me on your list!  If I could nominate the person who nominated me, you guys would be right at the top, specially Ren, her blog is indulging, witty and innocent. She shares all things that she loves, hates, goes through… an adorable blog in my opinion.

Now, for the 7 random things about me:

1. I’m a book worm, I can pass any concert, party, treat, movie, sport for reading any piece of writing I love. I’ve read LOTR at least a dozen times, and still spend most of my leisure time laying in my bed, reading. And to add.. I hate e book readers, tried both kindle and ipad but nothing beats the smell of a hard cover and the sound of flipping pages.
2. I’m a foodie (veg though) and in particular, I love Rasmalai , I can never have enough of it, sometimes even dream of it!!
3. This is my third blog, and in past I’ve deleted my two blogs in stupid fits of anger (poor lifeless creatures 🙂 victimized of someone else’s deeds), and each time I end up dropping a mail to wordpress support asking for the “Ways to retrieve back my Blog”.
4.  I lie… not a lot, but yes time to time i do lie… to my friends, to my parents, had to lie to my teachers in college… I’ve lied to them all.. well maintaining a good guy image is a tough job these days 😀
5. I’ve a certain degree of fascination for mafia and gangsters, I love the Bad guy image. Pulp fiction, Scarface, Goodfellas, Godfather are some of my all time favorite movies , I hated it when Light Yagami died in Death Note.. screw the victory of good!!
6. I love to keep things in order, say my room, my wardrobe, folders in my laptop… everything in the right place, don’t know if there is a medical term for it, but it’s like an obsession. Anyways sometimes it helps, specially with the female folk, never feel short of compliments.
7. I’m scared of dogs… not a general fear, a nightmarish fear, and It was heightened when one random day my friend’s Dog called ‘Johnny’ decided to feast on my right arm, I didn’t visit his place for at least a couple of years after it, btw Johnny’s gone now (RIP)… and I’m at ease visiting him once again 🙂

And now for my nominations for the Versatile Blogger

1) Thought’s in Play – Sugandha’s vibrant blog, one of my favourite… It’s full of everything  – articles, stories, poems, one liners, jokes, bad jokes, thoughts, philosophy… a True Versatile Blogger!!

2) Life’s About Experiences – A sweet ‘good girl’ blog, always optimistic, positive and humble.

3) Snigdha’s Blog – I like it for the honesty of it, all emotions right from heart, plus she reads (I guess a lot) too..!!

4) Bindu Blogs – funny and ruthless, got a great eye for the smallest things you can find humor in.

5) Inspired – Poetry right from heart, still wonder who’s behind the inspiration for ‘zave-inspired’ 🙂

6) Akinyiviv – She simply deserves it..!!

7) Meet APSC – Wish he write more often, an itsty bitsy writer… barely posts anything, still love his posts.

8) It’s My Thoughts – Princess Laila, that’s how she’s known, love her blog.

9) World of Dreams“Mon journey au zenith du monde” Really a versatile one, from poems, to reviews to personal musings… I love his blog, but like few others mentioned above, off late he’s neglecting his blog too 🙂

 

Well, I couldn’t think of a total 15, seems like another rule in the breaking… 🙂

Comments
  1. Sugandha says:

    Thanks sir! Aapne Akshay Khokhar ke naam se comment kiya blog pe and I thought ye kaun hai. 😛
    But thanks a lot, really. It feels good to be called versatile. 🙂
    P.S: Ye kaunsa award chal raha hai? Someone else did this too. I wonder if I too should do this now. 😀

    • @sugandha: yaar long story cut short… mom felt using ‘khokhar’ symbolism of castism (yeah she lives in ideal world, me n bro teasingly call her mother teresa 😛 ), so she named me just akshay kumar… then then lil peter pan grew up and felt, it’s part of his identity and started using it back again 😀

      P.S. pata nahi yaar depends on ur choice, who cares… one post, 10 mins 🙂

  2. Radhika Gupta says:

    Thanks for the nomination sir.. 🙂
    lol #3 and 7 😀 Even i am too scared of dogs!!

  3. Sugandha says:

    Eh BTW, the description looks like what I have used in meta tag. 😛

  4. Thanks very much for the nomination… ive had loads of these awards and i’ve seriously lost track of who who nominated me and awarded me.. now I don’t know who to thank etc … 😦

    But I’m delighted you thought me worthy, i am humbled and honoured too… 😛

    Your blog is fab too… 😛

Leave a Reply

