Alas, its been a year..!!

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Hyderabad, My Life

Today I completed my one year at Microsoft… one good year?? I’m not sure… may in some sense it was good, may be it wasn’t.
There are a lot of things I learned in last one year, some technical, some professional and some lessons at the personal front. Last night at 12.00 A.M. I got the congratulations mail for completing one year, and I was kind of overwhelmed… wow its been a year, a really VERY LONG year indeed. A lot of things happened in past one year, left few friends, met a few new ones and maybe some of these will be with me till my mere existence. Forgot a few people, got forgotten, had a huge number of treats, few very funny incidents, some serious fiascoes (like the pune trip, suhas’s b’day), had first hand experience of how it feels to eat at five stars, attended a few bachelor parties, promotion parties and even break-up treats 🙂

As one of my colleague Jayesh once said “For you one year is gonna be equal to a five years” and yes upto some extent  he was true in saying that. There were a lot of things where I did wonderfully good (Hope my manager acknowledges that..) some things where I might have performed better. But I would say these was a lot of lessons I learned in this last one year (on my first job)… learned to spend whole nights in office coding :P, whole nights in office watching movies in conference rooms (hoping that is not a HR violation, well yeah it is..), dining at all hands of other teams, made a few good south Indian friends (well yeah they are cool in their own way), witnessed how to take credit of some one else’s work, how to gain importance by dropping colorful mails, and witnessed the coolest of the techies doing their cool stuff in their own fancy world where algorithms dance and designs sings. Well one thing i missed… Innocence, well I might be wrong in expecting it at a workplace where you are to be reviewed at the end of the year for your work, its impact, but just like pretty chicks its also a rarity at Microsoft.. maybe I was too naive in expecting this at first hand..!!

What else… umm.. I feel old, yeah the fresh batch of college recruits just joined yesterday, and interns are already here, some of whom even call me “Akshay Sir”,  well somehow I feel responsible and Old, and yeah even if I have to update my CV now it”ll have a section reading… Work Ex.. June 2010- present: at Microsoft doing…xyz…
and yeah I’m also eligible to spend two grands on a dinner/lunch and claim reimbursement for it… well I already spent it this afternoon itself..

But yeah, Microsoft is a great place to work, I might say one of the best… It’s been a great (Experience) being here.

Comments
  1. Jayesh says:

    Ye sab chhod , aur bata party kab hai………………

  2. Akshay Kumar says:

    @jayesh: party anytime sir… 🙂 party ki badi fikr ki aapne 🙂

  3. That's really awesome to read ……….. 🙂 … akshay SIR 🙂

  4. Akshay Kumar says:

    Sir… lol :P, tu ofc to aa ragging leta hun teri… do ping as soon as you are in 🙂

  5. Congrats Bill Gates !!

  6. Akshay Kumar says:

    Thanks bhai 🙂

  7. renxkyoko says:

    Congratulations!!!!I hope things get better and better and better in the years ahead. And continue blogging ! !

  8. sir , ur posts r treat to read .!!!!!!! u hav got ur own stylye of writing things.Keep writing ….. 🙂

  9. Akshay Kumar says:

    Thanks a lot… 🙂

  10. Akshay Kumar says:

    @piyush: Thanks for subscribing buddy, will try to keep writing… 🙂

Leave a comment